Johann Sebastian Bach – Gigue from Partita IV in D BWV 833 arranged by John Mason

Woodwind Quartet (Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in A , Bassoon)

Advanced level; Duration 5 minutes (2 x 2’30”)

Bach’s Six Partitas (suites) from his Clavierübung (1731) are the pinnacle of  harpsichord music.  This arrangement of the sparkling fugal gigue highlights the music’s subtly disguised hemiolas and the suggestion of a cadenza. The rhythmic ambiguity of the bold opening phrase (two bars of three beats or three bars of two beats?)  fascinates Bach here. To guide the wind players through these aural tricks, the arrangement adapts some of the original time signatures. The end result is a great concert item, full of life and instrumental dexterity. Enjoy!

parts and score AMIP 5 @ GBP 12 + p&p

Maximum quantity exceeded
Minimum purchase amount of 0 is required
Maximum purchase amount of 0 is allowed
Your Price: £12.00