John Dowland & Giles Farnaby – Lachrimae, arranged by John Mason

Woodwind Quintet (Flute, Oboe, Clarinet in Bb , Horn in F, Bassoon)

Advanced level; Duration 4 minutes

Dowland’s five-part pavane ‘Lachrimae Antiqua’ (1604) is at the core of this arrangement. The repeats of the first and second section have been replaced by doubles variations based on Farnaby’s keyboard homage to Dowland’s masterpiece in the Fitzwilliam Virginals Book (c 1614). The doubles maintain the consistency of musical material, but ,through the various faster keyboard motifs, also provide contrast to the sustained slow playing of the Dowland original. The third section of the pavane with its incomparable harmonic modernity speaks for itself in conclusion. An excellent concert piece.

parts and score AMIP 01 @ GBP 12 + p&p

Maximum quantity exceeded
Minimum purchase amount of 0 is required
Maximum purchase amount of 0 is allowed
Your Price: £12.00